Kiwi Annihilator Teams set to fly in Aussie!

Powerboat racing at the highest level is set to fly at Lake Mulwala Yarrawonga three hours north of Melbourne April 29-30th & 1st May, when the “Kiwi Annihilator Racing team“ takes on the Aussies in the 103rd running of the “EC Griffith Cup” the world’s second oldest motorsport trophy still being contested.
Waverley based family team Warwick Lupton (Annihilator Race Boats) sons Ken Lupton ( Lucas Oils), Jack Lupton (Rural Fuels GP57) and Warwick’s cousin David Alexander (The Steeler 777) have packed up their boats and shipped them to Australian waters to do their best to win the EC Griffith’s Cup and bring it back to New Zealand. 17-01-16 1701
In its long history only three kiwis have been victorious in winning the cup in Australia, 1949 Sir Len Southward won the cup and kept it in New Zealand until 1963, it was to be another twenty six years 1989 before kiwi driver Peter Knight Jnr “CRC Latimer Lodge” won the cup bringing it back to New Zealand where it stayed until 1994. Several Kiwi challenges over the next seven years were unsuccessful until “Warwick Lupton” won the cup in Paynesville in 2001, keeping it on kiwi waters for only one season .”Lupton Snr” the only New Zealander to win the Cup twice in Australia was to win again seven years later in “2008”. Australian driver Grant Harrison “GP1” up lifted the trophy in 2012 and today remains the current holder.
The Lupton family also well known for a different kind of horse power, Warwick’s late father “Snow Lupton “ with his Waverley trained race horse “Kiwi “won the Melbourne Cup in 1983. The EC Griffith’s Cup is the pinnacle in powerboat racing as is the Melbourne Cup in horse racing.
The determination and skill of this kiwi team is second to none, there approach is with enormous commitment and ferocity“failure is not an option “you will hear them say. The four boat team with a crew of thirty, will not be alone in their challenge hundreds of kiwi supporters are also heading to Yarrawonga to witness this epic challenge in the Cup’s long history. 17-01-16 1262
Who will win? It’s hard to predict young Jack Lupton “Rural Fuels GP57” fresh out of a winning season in New Zealand would have to be the hot favourite, the affable David Alexander “The Steeler 777”, a hard charging and honest driver has the horsepower and courage to be at the front of the field, not to be ruled out and probably the dark horse in the field Ken Lupton “Lucas Oils” has had a few minor handling problems since they put a new cell in the boat a couple of seasons ago, now sorted Ken is quietly confident . The leader of the pack Warwick Lupton “Annihilator Race Boats” says preparation is everything and this mission is not impossible don’t rule me out I can still foot it with these young guys.
It is with high hopes and pride we wish the Kiwi teams well in their quest to up lift this prestigious trophy from the Aussies follow their progress on\ and\accelerationonwater .

Media Release: Denise Preece.

07-02-16 403 DSC_6602



Powerboat P1 is this week attending the 86th UIM General Assembly in Auckland, New Zealand which brings together more than 100 leading players in the global powerboat racing industry. This year’s event is being hosted by the New Zealand Powerboat Federation and runs from 21 – 27 October at the Heritage Conference Centre.
P1 Chief Operating Officer, Robert Wicks, will be making various presentations to the Offshore, Environmental and Safety Commissions. In conjunction with the RYA, P1 will also be delivering a major report on a new and innovative Youth Development Strategy designed to encourage youngsters into the sport.

“The General Assembly is the focal point of the year for all of the national authorities and global promoters such as P1, providing the opportunity to share ideas and improve the sport at all levels – safety, promotion, organisation and the environment,” said Wicks. “P1 is very much at the forefront in these areas and we will be making a significant contribution over the week ahead,” he added.

President of the New Zealand Powerboat Federation Denise Moughan is thrilled to have the delegates in Auckland. “This event has been a long time in the planning and to have the foremost figures in the powerboat racing industry here in Auckland is very exciting. The country’s marine industry is internationally recognised for its skilled professionals and innovation and we see the General Assembly as a huge opportunity to not only share knowledge, but for potential investment and new business ventures,” said Moughan.

Auckland is New Zealand’s largest and most diverse city, firmly positioned as one of the premier event and visitor destinations in the world. UIM President, Raffaele Chiulli said: “I am confident the rich maritime heritage and the reputation of warm hospitality of the New Zealand people will be key success factors for the 86th UIM General Assembly.”

Festival of Speed Tour – Karapiro March 15th-16th Program

Race entries Lake Karapiro 15-16th March 2014
Grand Prix Hydroplanes Featuring North Island GP & AE Baker
GP57 Jack Lupton
The Steeler David Alexander
The Boss Raymond Hart
Fair Warning Scott Coker
Cheetah Ken Lupton
Annihilator Race Boats Warwick Lupton
Modified Hydroplanes Featuring Marsh Motor Sport
Dundeel Alan James
Thunderbird Brent Frampton
Boost Rory Anthony
Challenger Wayne Wells
Endorphin Rush Alan Wells
Heleter Skelter Nigel Zander
Macsheen Peter McLeod
Foreno Daniel/Tony Hall
Armaggedon Brendon Hall
Formula One Featuring final rounds of NZF1 2014 Championship
Promt Parts Luke Sharp
Scott Construction Julian Stilwell
Ray Glass Malcolm Jamieson
Design Windows Anthony Robinson
The Chase Derek McAdam
Lone Wolf Jeff Price
KS Builders Richard Somerville
Prostock Featuring North island Prostock
Lucky Break Dean Proben
Heat Seeker Adam Parker
Wasted Nights Evan White
Typhoon Simon Watkins
Clubmans Featuring Round 2 Northern Series
Jafa Racing Wade Mullins
One Edge Shaun Smith
AB Marine Andrew McBeth
MASB 5 Norm Buthane
Buzz Tony Arthur
Outboard Marine Thom Hesketh
J Class Featuring Round 2 Northern Series
Rat Attack 1 Karl Weller
Rat Attack 2 Cody Greening
Rat Attack 3 Zach Weller
MASB 6 Jaynee Dingleman
AB Marine Alix McBeth
NZ Jet Boats
USA Direct Benn  Quinn
Evil Racing Craig Henwood
Mark Cromie Racing Mark Cromie